Spring in the City: Sailing, Tulips, & Yarn

Spring is slowly coming to Baltimore.

As I’m writing this, I can practically feel the rain rolling in and the temperature dropping again. We’ve had a true spring this year, complete with wild temperature fluctuations and plenty of rain.

shakedown sailDespite the frequent rain, we’ve been lucky to have sunny weekends so we could get in some of my favorite Spring-In-Baltimore activities.

One of the best things about spring is that it brings the beginning of sailing season to Baltimore. We were able to do a shakedown sail on a gorgeous Saturday two weeks ago.

We sailed out of the Downtown Sailing Center to Nick’s at White Rock Marina and back.

Spending 8 hours on a boat is incredibly relaxing after the busyness of a normal week. And spring sailing really is the best; the weather is incredibly conducive to getting an incredible sail in.

tulip

 

This season is also awesome because it’s tulip season. I love tulips and there are a ton of gardens and parks that create gorgeous tulip displays in Baltimore.

The most well-known tulip display is Sherwood Gardens. The tulips at Sherwood Garden peak a few weeks before the tulips in our garden so we visit Sherwood earlier in April and then wait for ours to finish growing.

And if you’re looking to collect some tulip bulbs to plant in your own garden, Sherwood Gardens hosts an annual dig the Saturday before Memorial Day ( I think they ask 30 cents per bulb – bring your own spade)

 

And of course, spring and April mean it’s time for the Charm City Yarn Crawl. I really enjoy this and visited a couple of new stores this year. It’s not like I need an excuse to visit local yarn stores and buy yarn, but I certainly don’t mind having the excuse of a yarn crawl (the 20% discount doesn’t hurt either!)

I did buy a couple of non-local yarns, including some gorgeous Rowan Softyak DK from Woolworks. But the majority of what I selected was locally dyed. Baltimore is lucky to have some amazing talent both in the City and around the region, including my favorite – Neighborhood Fiber Co.

I visited Neighborhood Fiber Co.’s new studio store. I believe the store is technically in the Seton Hill neighborhood, but it’s the 700 block of N. Eutaw Street, which I think may be considered part of Mount Vernon. Regardless of which neighborhood Neighborhood Fiber is  actually located in, I did buy some yarn. I purchased a skein of Studio Worsted yarn in the Thomas Circle colorway. It’s a luscious gray yarn and each skein is a whopping 8 oz (4oo yards).

I visited a total six stores including the new-to-me Cloverhill Yarn Shop in Catonsville. Cloverhill is a completely lovely yarn shop with a great layout and a really great selection of yarn. It also just felt incredibly welcoming so I’m glad I visited as part of the yarn crawl, and will definitely return.

I ended up buying two skeins of their house yarn, Tempting Ewe Yarns. The yarn line that caught my eye is called Ewe So Sparkly and the colorway is Dr. Frank N Furter. Seriously, it’s variegated grey – my favorite- and named Dr. Frank N Furter; I had to buy this yarn. The picture below is taken inside but is pretty true to the colors.

frank n furter

This yarn is fingering (sock) weight. Each skein has 438 yards (100 g) and is a blend of 75/20/5 superwash merino, nylon, and sparkle. For some reason, the label saying the yarn was 5% sparkle completely cracked me up (I’m easily amused). 5% also seems like the maximum amount of sparkle I’d want a yarn to have.

I’m finishing up a couple of hats and a light spring scarf, but this is Dr. Frank N Furter yarn is likely to be the next thing I work with. I can’t wait to get it (and the other yarn from the yarn crawl) on the needles.

 

Leave a Reply

