Hello Again Fall

Ah, hello again, Fall.

I’m so happy that it’s fall again. This summer was a really moderate Baltimore summer. The temperatures were moderate, the humidity didn’t get bad, it was just sort of nice. But I’m still happy to see fall and all the things that fall brings. I guess the only difference is that unlike past years, I don’t have that fantastic sense of relief of: hey, I can knit on the porch without my wool felting!

This has been a fantastic summer. Lots of changes occurred. Some are partly to blame for not posting much on here (job changes, life changes — real life certainly has a way of keeping a person occupied and off the internet). This picture from a recent sailing excursion pretty much sums up life lately – it’s been good.

~~

~~

A number of projects that were in the works for months finally wound down. I finally finished a cowl to match my Hat No. 5.

I feel like I finished this just in time – it was in the 40’s F overnight last night. The pattern is on Ravelry as a freebie.

~~

~~

And I finished a scarf for a friend that I started almost exactly one year ago. It’s very simple, very gray, very warm. I used all of four skeins of Berroco Vintage (~868 yards) of color 5107 Cracked Pepper.

~~

~~

I cast on 59 stitches (~9″ wide) and just knit a broken rib stitch approximately 110″. I slip stitches on my broken rib so the pattern is:

  • Row 1: *k3, sl1 wyif; repeat from * to last 3 sts; k3
  • Row 2: *k1, *sl1 wyif, k3; repeat from * to last two stitches, sl1 wyif, k1

You could knit this kind of a scarf by casting on any multiple of 4 plus 3 stitches and knitting until you run out of yarn. It’s a bit monotonous, but the finished knit is gorgeous for its simplicity and the rib gives it a plush thickness.

With that, I’m going to schedule this post to publish tomorrow morning and go sit and knit on the porch – it’s gorgeous outside and the dog and I should be sitting on the porch enjoying the evening. ~ Happy knitting.

Leave a Reply

