MD Sheep and Wool

It was a questionable for a while there, but it is definitely and finally Spring in Baltimore. And Spring means the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.

DSCN1292

I really do enjoy looking through all the animal barns and seeing the different sheep, goat, and rabbit breeds. Which, considering there’s no way I’d ever actually live on a farm, seems odd. And as much as I don’t actually want sheep, visiting them is fun (although I do kind of want a goat or two, it just seems like goats would fit into my neighborhood really well).

DSCN1296

And as much as I don’t actually want to own sheep, I wouldn’t mind owning all the yarn I can get my hands on. But, I have a lot of gorgeous yarn in my collection so exercised (I think) admirable self control by only buying one skein of yarn. This is a 630 yard hank of a yarn called Nona by Spirit Trail Fiberworks. It’s a blend of 50% wool, 25% silk, and 25% cashmere. The skein alone feels amazing and the samples in the Spirit Trail Fiberworks booth felt amazing so I can’t wait to knit it into something.

DSCN1298

It was a good trip and it’s been a good spring so far. I’m excited because I have two knitting patterns in testing that are going to be released soon. They are cabled hats  knit in fingering weight yarns and I can’t wait to share them.  It may be seasonally inappropriate, but I’ve been knitting a lot of hats lately — I’m working on putting all that yarn I’ve been collecting from all those sheered sheep to good use.

2 thoughts on “MD Sheep and Wool

Leave a Reply

