Oakenshawe Cowl

It’s like the season of cowls around this blog, and given that today is the first day it’s felt like Fall in over a week, my new accessories have gotten absolutely no use so far. (It’s been in the upper 80s the last 5 days or so here  – bizarre October weather).

DSCN0499

But I’m sticking with my schedule and posting my newest cowl pattern,  It’s a cowl with a striping pattern that has you knit horizontal bands of color while slipping stitches to create vertical stripes.

The cowl is named for a neighborhood near my home in Remington, Oakenshawe. Oakenshawe is a historic neighborhood in north-central Baltimore, built up mostly in the 19-teens and 1920’s as a streetcar suburb. It’s an oasis of a neighborhood just north of the Johns Hopkins University Campus and a lovely neighborhood to take the dog on a walk in. Which is also the reason I know anything at all about Oakenshawe; I was walking the dog and found myself on these gorgeous tree-lined streets – apparently I was in Oakenshawe!

DSCN0495

I really like this cowl and the texture the Seda Rustica yarn, which is a blend of silk and llama, creates. My only complaint is that the yarn is a bit fragile. So I had to deliberately loosen up my normally tight knitting or run the risk of having the yarn break frequently. I broke the yarn on my first round twice and then didn’t have any additional problems as I worked the rest of the cowl loosely. So I do recommend Seda Rustica for loose knitters, however I do not recommend it for knitters that work tightly as the yarn is one of the more fragile I’ve worked with. As an alternative, I recommend Berrocco Ultra Alpaca. The Ultra Alpaca is a stronger yarn, but has a lofty quality that I think works well for this pattern.

DSCN0504

This pattern is available through Ravelrly: Oakenshawe Cowl

Pattern Details:

Construction: This striped cowl pattern is designed to wrap twice around your neck as a cozy fall accessory. The simple striping with vertical lines created with slipped stitches shows off the textured Seda Rustica yarn. A suggested alternative to Seda Rustica is Berrocco Ultra Alpaca, which has a fuzzy softness and stripes up really nicely.

Skill level: Intermediate
Skills needed: Knitting in the round, purling, slipping stitches with yarn in back, casting on, binding off loosely.

Size: Adult, One Size
Circumference: 64 ½”
Height: 6 ½”
Gauge: 15 sts and 23 rows per 4” in stitch pattern knit flat

Materials:
US8 (5 mm) 24” circular needle
One skein each of two colors of Seda Rustica yarn or 200 yards each of two colors of worsted weight yarn. Sample used Stormy Sea as MC and Nutmeg as CC
Stitch Marker
Yarn needle
Scissors

Leave a Reply

