More Hats!

It’s hat making season!  I made two more “Hat No. 5” Hats. Both of these were made as written with 84 stitches cast on for a stretchy finished circumference of just over 19″.  I like that this pattern is interesting, but it’s only a six row pattern repeat so it’s short enough to easily  keep track of where you are in the pattern.

DSCN0290

I also knit up a yellow hat with a broken rib stitch pattern. This is the stitch pattern where you alternate knit rounds with *k1, p1* rounds. I think it creates a simple but attractive hat .

DSCN0297

These hat use up more yarn from that half-filled bin of mystery acrylic accumulated over the past decade I’ve been trying to use up knitting hats for the 500 Hats Project. It’s funny – I can remember why I bought the burgundy and gray yarns, but I have no idea why I bought that golden-yellow yarn (it may have been a sale or clearance induced purchase). I’m on target to empty the bin of mystery acrylic this fall and I’ll keep posting hats as I go. ~Happy Knitting.

2 thoughts on “More Hats!

  1. Yvonne Schreck says:

    Love your new hats, especially the cabled one.  Already faved it on Ravelry. 

    How did you do the decreases on the broken rib hat and did you start it when the hat was about 5″ or 6″ long?

    Thank you,

    Yvonne

  2. theknitmckinley says:

    Hi Yvonne, I know I started the decreases around the 6″ mark but I was just winging the hat so I don’t have notes on how I did the decreases. I also realize I didn’t even note how many stitches I cast on (probably 96 because when knitting adult beanies, I’ll frequently start with 96 stitches).

    I would cast on a multiple of 8 stitches and do the style #1 decreases as described in the hat pattern Lovelyarns Provides (free pattern here: http://www.lovelyarns.com/#!500-hats-project/cfwl), and just maintain the *k1, p1* rib pattern as you decrease.

    Thanks,
    Kara

Leave a Reply

