Hat No. 5 Revisited

A little over a year ago, I posted a hat recipe titled “Hat No. 5“. It was a hat for the 500 Hats Project and at the time I was just numbering the hats chronologically — this was the 5th hat made. I still don’t have a better name for it, so this hat pattern is going to remain Hat No. 5 for now.

DSCN0552

This hat was made with approximately 120 yards of Berroco Vintage, a worsted weight blend of acrylic and wool. The color is a great fall pumpkin orange. An orange that I discovered when taking lots of pictures at different times of day is as hard to photograph as bright red. I’m really pleased with the finished hat and I have another 3 skeins of the Vintage yarn in addition to the half skein I have left from the hat so I’m going to use the cabled-rib pattern to knit a matching cowl.

If you’d like to knit a Hat No. 5, the very customizable hat recipe is here. I made my hat 8.5″ tall and 22″ around by casting on 96 stitches, knitting a one and a half inch brim, and doing 5 cable repeats before starting the decrease rounds.

Leave a Reply

