A Bad Case of the Cast-Ons

~~~

~~~

I have a serious case of the cast-on’s.

Part of the problem is that I have some of the yarn displayed now in glass jars on top of one of my bookcases (as usual, my indoor photos don’t do any justice to the yarn – it’s gorgeous, my photography is meh). I do enjoy the way the yarn looks in the jars, but it really does make me want to start working on all of it.

The other part of the problem is that after Christmas I took  a mini-break from working on some of the projects I have in the pipeline and all I’ve finished recently are a couple of hats and the Cacao sweater. And now I really, really want to get some projects finished!

In addition to two pairs of socks, two cowls, several hats, and a sweater, I decided I also needed to get started on my clapotis (pattern available through Knitty). I’ve had this skein of Mille Colori sock yarn sitting around since last summer waiting to be made into a scarf. After a lot of debate, I decided to do a clapotis for me with it. I made my first clapotis for mom a couple of years ago with three shades of pink worsted weight wool. For a pattern that looks incredible in pretty much any yarn, can be styled in many different ways, and can be modified to all different sizes, it is a remarkably easy pattern. I’ve done about 15 inches of the scarf so far and am already really excited about the striping of the colors.

~~~

~~~

Hopefully, at this point my case of the cast-on’s will subside. Or the issue may become not one of what to do with the yarn, but that I’ve run out of needles to cast projects on to.

3 thoughts on “A Bad Case of the Cast-Ons

Leave a Reply

