Sweater Weather: More Yarns, More Projects

~~~

~~~

It’s January and almost 60 degrees outside. Fortunately, it will get cold again and that makes my yarn purchases over the last couple of weeks seem not so completely ridiculous.

I finished the Cacoa pullover with the cowl neck which used only six skeins of the Cascade 220 Wool, but I also want a cabled cardigan, another pullover with cable work, and I still want to make a second vest as I’ve wanted to  ever since I finished Vest Evereste over a year ago. I’m reasonably confident those won’t all be finished by the time sweater weather gives way to spring and summer but I have collected some gorgeous yarns for the projects. Pictured above is Universal Yarn’s Renewal Wool in lichen, Berocco’s Ultra Alpaca in a chocolate brown and Cascade Yarn’s 220 Superwash in Navy Blue. The Renewal Wool is for the cabled cardigan, but I bought the same yardages of the Ultra Alpaca and the Cascade so one is going to be a pullover and the other a vest.

And how handy is it that my sister gifted me with an awesome bag to carry my yarn around in while I work on these projects… These projects that require many balls and a sack to put them in.

Hehe... ball sack.

Hehe… ball sack.

I really enjoy that bag.

In addition to the three yarns above, I also had two of those gigantic skeins of Cascade Eco wool in a lovely vanilla bean type color. This is actually the ‘natural’ colorway, not the colorway called ‘vanilla’. But it really does have the coloring of a delicious homemade vanilla bean ice cream. This sweater is simple pullover for slouching around in. I’m using a garter stitch neckband and 2×2 ribbing on the sleeves and waist. I found these pretty brown recycled plastic buttons to embellish the sleeves with and, other than the buttons, this is the ultimate plain vanilla pullover.

 

Knitting 024

~~~

 I love knitting these seamless sweaters because you can try them on as you go. This one went over the head so I could see how the shoulder shaping fit (very well) and the cacao sweater I pulled up to try on. It’s really convenient to pull on and check the fitting of the piece as you’re working on it. The problem is that I don’t know how you would do this other than having a second long circular needle to hold the work so it’s on two circulars while you try it on. I guess you could put the whole thing on scrap yarn and then put it back on the needle after trying it out, but that’s seems risky and very inconvenient.

Either way, this eco wool sweater is almost finished and I have two US10 1/2 long circular needles so I can continue to try it on as I finish it up. Hopefully that will be done in the next two-three days so I can wear it when the temperatures dip back down to sweater weather.

One thought on “Sweater Weather: More Yarns, More Projects

Leave a Reply

