It’s That Time of Year

Santa Hat

It’s Santa Hat Time

My self-imposed schedule to post part 2 of the Holiday Cabled Wreath with the poinsettia instructions was today. Clearly I’ve missed that goal. But I’m really pleased to have done a bunch of other things because it’s that time of year when it seems like I’m trying to get a million things done all at once (it’s hilarious to have knitting priorities – I want to do the poinsettia, but must do x,y,z first. This is still a hobby, right?). Also, excuse the not so awesome photography in this post. I haven’t had any daylight to take pictures in because first it was raining and then I’ve been in the office during the limited daylight hours.

I finished up my last commissioned pieces of the holiday season this week. The Santa Hat above is a toddler sized whimsy. Santa Hats are the only thing I make out of Lion Brand’s Homespun yarn. It seems like every year I hit Michael’s or Jo-Ann’s to get the holiday colors because that yarn is perfect for a cozy cute hat that doesn’t need to stand up to months of wear like a regular winter hat (I don’t know that Homespun could hold up to months of wear!). I also finished up the sweater below. It’s actually been done for almost a month but I needed to dig through the button box to find cute buttons.

Garter Stitch Yoke Cardigan

Garter Stitch Yoke Cardigan

The buttons aren’t a perfect fit in that they don’t perfectly match the sweaters pink stripes, but I love that they actually make the pink look a little brighter. This pattern is the Garter Yoke Baby Cardi by Jennifer Hoel (a free Ravelry download) with a few minor tweaks.

Love the little top of the sweater

Love the little top of the sweater

The baby sweater is sized for a one year old with a 21.5″ chest circumference and is ~10.5″ long.

I also finished the sleeves on the Terra Linda Cardigan for my sister. I’m going to go button shopping before I pick up stitches and knit the button band. I hate picking out buttons before I really have an idea of what my finished knit will look like so I usually wait until this point so I can take the sweater with and hold the button up to it. I think I’m going to try and go Saturday – I’m excited!

Terra Linda Cardigan

Terra Linda Cardigan

I love the lace pattern at the top of the sweater. It was really easy and looks so beautiful finished.

Incredibly easy lace

Incredibly easy lace

I’m going to have to get some better pictures of the terra linda cardigan. Unfortunately, I’m going to have to hand over the commissioned pieces so won’t be able to take them out for photos.

Hopefully, I’ll get the poinsettia tutorial finished and posted tonight. I’m just glad I’m actually on track to not be finishing up knitted holiday gifts on Christmas Eve this year.

Leave a Reply

