Blocking Matrimonio Bolero

~~~

Eep. I’m so excited I managed to finish and block the matrimonio bolero yesterday morning! Last night, I seamed the arms and am taking it into work today to see how it works on the soon-to-be-bride. I can’t believe how fast it knit up – and the measurements look correct so I’ll know soon if it works.

Yesterday, I went to go see Frankenweenie at the Rotunda and then headed over to Lovelyarns. I’m so excited. I’m going to knit mini-socks for the winter display window Sue’s creating. The colors selected for the project are fantastic. It’s going to be so much fun to make itty-bitty socks. I can’t remember off the top of my head but I think the installation needs to be in place mid-November so I’m going to knit these little socks ASAP but probably won’t have anything to show for a month or so.

Also, while there I found some Berroco Vintage DK in color 2181 “Black Cherry” to replace the Jojoland I had gotten to make my sisters Christmas cardigan. The jojoland is gorgeous but it wasn’t the right kind of burgundy I had in mind once I made the swatch. That yarn is going to become my vest (I had to throw away my favorite sweater vest – it was sad) and the Vintage DK is going to become the terra linda cardigan. I am modifying  it slightly to a dk instead of worsted weight yarn but that will probably be the only modification because the pattern as-is looks gorgeous. I need to do a new swatch with the Vintage DK tonight or tomorrow so I can cast-on and stay on target with the holiday knitting (or someone may get another half-finished project in a gift box).

Leave a Reply

