Yak Yarn

Lang Yarns has come out with yarn made with yak fiber. I had to buy a skein and as it was in one of my older sisters favorite colors, I could justify the purchase as a gift knit. The skein felt a little stiff, not like a cotton but almost like it had some kind of coating on it.

It’s a yak!

 

I knit up a cabled hat alternating six stitch left cables with twisted stitches. The yak feels a little different. It’s not as a soft as some, but it’s not rough like a cotton either. I swear the yarn smells a little gamey, but I could just be taken with the fact that it’s yak. For a one-skein experiment, this was a great investment because the finished product came out beautifully.

One thought on “Yak Yarn

Leave a Reply

