Northumbria Cowl in New Hampshire

I visited the little sister in New Hampshire for Labor Day weekend. It was gorgeous, the town was fun, and it was great to have a relaxing four days.

Of course, it was a lot of hours in the car (Baltimore+New Hampshire*2= 16 hours) so I brought along a knitting project that involved repetitive knitting. So I got to see beautiful Portsmouth and got a gorgeous new cowl.

Portsmouth

Portsmouth is gorgeous with a good-sized downtown and lots of history. It also boasts what may be the cleanest Motel 6 in the United States. Seriously. It was recently renovated, the cheapest place in town (we are talking about Labor Day after all), and really clean. I can’t wait to go back. There is a yarn shop in town that I actually didn’t have time to go to (I don’t know what to do with that statement – I always find and got to local yarn shops while traveling – this is just some bizarre aberration). I did get to see water and that was pretty lovely.

Water by the bridge between Portsmouth and Maine’s state line at Kittery

There was also a brew tour.

Red Hook Brewery provided a tour and lunch.

There was also a visit to New Castle Island including a meandering tour of Fort Constitution.

Fort Constitution on New Castle Island

We went to a fantastic lobster place on the water with amazing views and even more amazing lobster,  but I didn’t get a good picture because the light wasn’t great.

Since I didn’t get a picture of the lobster restaurant, here’s a picture of a boathouse.

Molly, who was gracious enough to accompany us on this trip, is modeling the Northumbria Cowl. Of course, she also got innumerable cookies during the treat and has no reason not to model a cowl after her vacation.

What a dog wearing a cowl may look like.

I actually bought Knit Scene (the Fall 2010 issue) specifically to make this cowl and almost exactly a year later, I found the perfect yarn and completed the project. The yarn is Unisono by Zitron. This is a fabulous striping yarn made of 100% wool. The yarn has a smooth finish and slipped around the size six circulars neatly (no pulling, splitting, etc). I added about 15% onto the number of stitches called for in the pattern. I like cowls a little looser and loved the pattern but knew the fit would be too tight. With the extra stitches this sits nicely around my neck and shows off the colors beautifully.

Leave a Reply

