Fudge Swirl Scarf

I do this every year. I think in the two months leading up to Christmas that there’s going to be some sort of magical knitting-related time warp that allows me to complete a number of projects that in an abnormally short amount of time. And I know better. I know how long it takes to knit a scarf or hat or pair of socks. I’m less accurate on sweaters, but I don’t knit all that many so I have some excuse. But I can look at a pattern for pretty much anything else and know how much time it will take.

And yet, I magically believe not in Santa Clause but in my own ability to knit a scarf that will normally take 25-30 hours of focused knitting time in says a 72 hour window where I’m also supposed eat, sleep and work.

So today, on the 8th day of Christmas, I gave my mom the Fudge Swirl Scarf named after the cable pattern that dominates the scarf:

The final dimensions are 7″ by 72″ knit on US8 needles with three skeins of Cascade 220 wool.

The pattern is really easy – the swirl is a fairly simple cable that looks more complicated than it is. I have pattern notes I’ll need to turn into a pattern a some point soon.

Leave a Reply

